Diocese of Jackson (Diocese of Natchez), Mississippi

Established July 28, 1837

The original Diocese of Natchez, whose first bishop was John Joseph Chanche, SS, encompassed the state of Mississippi. In 1948, the seat of the diocese was moved to Jackson and its title later changed to Natchez-Jackson. In 1977, the Diocese of Biloxi was separated, and the Diocese of Jackson became the official name of the old diocese.


Diocese of Jackson history