Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph, Missouri

Established 1868

Catholic tradesman Joseph Robidoux founded the city of St. Joseph in 1830. When the place was made the center of a new western Missouri diocese, John J. Hogan became its first bishop. It was split when the Diocese of Kansas City, Missouri, was created in 1880, but the two sees were reunited in 1956 (and some of their territory shifted to the new dioceses of Springfield-Cape Girardeau and Jefferson City), Kansas City remaining the seat of the bishop.


Diocese of Kansas City-St. Joseph * Catholic Encyclopedia